2014 election recap

2014 election recap

The good news… the election campaign season is over!

The bad news… the governance begins!

Thank you to all of our IFAPAC contributors who enabled our participation in the most recent Texas elections. Our collaborative campaign contributions contributed over $117,000 to dozens of successful candidates since the primary runoff May 27, with a 98% winning ratio!

Your support for NAIFA, both financially and organizationally, continues to provide tremendous value in the political process.

Take a minute to review the results below, and know that NAIFA-Texas as well as these elected officials have eyes pointed towards the 84th Texas state legislature, which begins in less than 45 days!


2014: 4,681,735 (33.38%) [Abbott v. Davis]
2010: 4,972,895 (37.47%) [Perry v. White]
2006: 4,399,068 (33.64%) [Perry v. Bell]
2002: 4,553,979 (46.24%) [Perry v. Sanchez]


With Governor Perry vacating the Governor’s office, the attorney general leaving his post to run for governor, the comptroller retiring, and other offices being up for grabs, last night was the first time since 1998 that every statewide slot was vacant in the General Election. Republicans swept every top statewide office, continuing their streak that began in 1994.

Here is a breakdown of these results:

Governor: Attorney General Greg Abbott-R defeats Senator Wendy Davis-D [59%-38.9%]
Lt. Governor: Senator Dan Patrick-R defeats Senator Leticia Van de Putte-D [58%-38.6%]
Attorney General: Senator Ken Paxton-R defeats Sam Houston-D [59%-38%]
Comptroller: Senator Glenn Hegar-R defeats Mike Collier-D [58%-37.6%]
Land Commissioner: George P Bush-R defeats John Cook-D [60.7%-35.3%]
Agriculture Commissioner: Former State Rep. Sid Miller-R defeats Jim Hogan-D [58.9%-36.8%]
Railroad Commissioner: Ryan Sitton-R defeats Steve Brown-D [58%-36.5%]
Supreme Court, Chief: Justice Nathan Hecht-R defeats William Moody-D [59.6%-37%]
Supreme Court, Place 6: Justice Jeff Brown-R defeats Lawrence Edward-D [60.4%-36.4%]
Supreme Court, Place 7: Justice Jeff Boyd-R defeats Gina Benavides-D [58.5%-37.5%]
Supreme Court, Place 8: Justice Phil Johnson-R defeats RS Roberto Koelsch-L [78.8%-11.9%]
Crim. Appeals, Place 3: Justice Bert Richardson-R defeats John Granberg-D [59.9%-36.5%]
Crim Appeals, Place 4: Justice Kevin Patrick Yeary-R defeats Quanah Parker-L [76.3%-13.2%]
Crim. Appeals, Place 9: Justice David Newell-R defeats William Strange III-L [78.3%-13.1%]


Republicans have taken control of the United States Senate with at least a 7 seat gain late Tuesday evening, needing only a gain of 6. Senator John Cornyn-R easily won re-election, defeating Democrat David Alameel, 61.2% to 34.3%.


There was only one hotly contested Texas Congressional race to follow Tuesday evening of the 36 districts and that was in Congressional District 23. Congressman Pete Gallego-D was defeated by Will Hurd-R, 49.8% to 47.6%.

The make-up of the Texas delegation to Congress will now be 25 Republicans and 11 Democrats.


The Texas Senate will see many new faces when members are sworn-in on opening day of the 84th Session. There will be 20 Republicans and 11 Democrats and a new Lieutenant Governor. On Tuesday evening, there was one hotly contested race and that was in Senator Davis’ vacated seat, Senate District 10. Republican Konni Burton won the seat for the GOP by defeating Democrat Libby Lewis, 52.8% to 44.7%.

There will be 7 incoming freshmen members with one more expected when Senator Glenn Hegar’s senate seat opens after his election as Comptroller last night.

New Members:

SD 2: Bob Hall-R (Canton)
SD 4: Brandon Creighton-R (Conroe)
SD 7: Paul Bettencourt-R (Houston)
SD 8: Van Taylor-R (Plano)
SD 10: Konni Burton-R (Fort Worth)
SD 16: Don Huffines-R (Dallas)
SD 28: Charles Perry-R (Lubbock)


There will be 98 Republicans and 52 Democrats when the House convenes in January 2015. On Tuesday night, two Democratic incumbents were defeated: HD 117 – Rep. Philip Cortez-D was defeated by Rick Galindo-R, 52.7% to 47.3% in San Antonio; and HD 144 – Rep. Mary Ann Perez-D was defeated by Gilbert Pena-R, 50.7% to 49.3% in Pasadena. Wayne Faircloth-R beat Susan Criss-D in House District 23, 54.6% to 45.4%, creating a pick-up seat for Republicans in the former Craig Eiland-D district.

As most House races were decided in the Primary Elections, only a handful created General Election excitement. Among these were:

HD 43: Rep. JM Lozano-R of Kingsville, defeated Kim Gonzales-D, 61.4% to 38.6%.
HD 105: Rodney Anderson-R of Grand Prairie, defeated Susan Motley-D, 55.4% to 42.7%.
HD 107: Rep. Kenneth Sheets-R of Dallas, defeated Carol Donovan-D, 55% to 45%.
HD 113: Rep. Cindy Burkett-R of Mesquite, defeated Milton Whitley-D, 60% to 40%.
HD 149: Rep. Hubert Vo-D of Houston, defeated Al Hoang-R, 55% to 45%.

There will be a total of 61 House members with one-session or less experience and of these, 25 are freshman.

New Members:

HD 1: Gary VanDeaver-R (New Boston)
HD 4: Stuart Spitzer-R (Kaufman)
HD 10: John Wray-R (Waxahachie)
HD 15: Mark Keough-R (Spring)
HD 16: Will Metcalf-R (Conroe)
HD 21: Dade Phelan-R (Port Arthur)
HD 23: Wayne Faircloth-R (Galveston)
HD 50: Celia Israel-D (Austin)
HD 53: Andrew Murr-R (Junction)
HD 55: Molly White-R (Temple)
HD 58: DeWayne Burns-R (Cleburne)
HD 66: Matt Shaheen-R (Plano)
HD 76: Cesar Blanco-D (El Paso)
HD 81: Brooks Landgraf-R (Odessa)
HD 83: Dustin Burrows-R (Lubbock)
HD 90: Ramon Romero-D (Fort Worth)
HD 94: Tony Tinderholt-R (Arlington)
HD 102: Linda Koop-R (Dallas)
HD 105: Rodney Anderson-R (Grand Prairie)
HD 108: Morgan Meyer-R (Dallas)
HD 115: Matt Rinaldi-R (Irving)
HD 117: Rick Galindo-R (San Antonio)
HD 129: Dennis Paul-R (Houston)
HD 132: Mike Schofield-R (Katy)
HD 144: Gilbert Pena-R (Pasadena)


Texas voters overwhelmingly approved using oil and and gas tax revenue to fund new road
construction by 80% of the vote (more than 3 million voters approving).